Make your Windows 7 a little bit safer

Virus scanners and firewalls are like vitamins, they help you stay healthier but they don’t prevent you from getting sick. This other day I found the Antivirus virus rampaging on my laptop. Vulnerabilities in browser add-ins is the most common reason for viruses to get on your computer.  In my case there where suspicious files both in the Java and browser cache.

After removing the troublemaker with the scanner I had and running some online scanners just to make sure, I did what I should have done a long time ago to make my Windows a little bit safer:

  • First a made a separate admin account and removed the rights from my standard account. Windows will now prompt me for the admin password when necessary. Experts claim 80% of the know viruses will be stopped just by doing this. I had done it on my XP (never had a virus scanner on that old computer) but forgot about it when I upgraded.
  • I updated my Java to the latest version and then I disabled Java both from the Java console and the browsers. I also disabled the Java cache just to be sure. Best option would of course be to just remove the whole thing but I was not sure if I would need it later.
  • Then I installed Chrome as it’s claimed to be the safest browser and set it as default.
  • As a final touch I disabled the JavaScript support from my PDF viewer and disabled the Chrome internal one has I could not find any option to do the same there. I then used some safe PDF scripting examples available on the internet to test my configuration.
Leave a Reply

