Supporting Documentation Using Task Tokens

Many details get left to be documented first after the programming have been finished. At that stage there are million an one things to document and many important but small details get easily forgotten.

I’ve been trying to figure out how to integrate the documentation as a part of the programming. In one of my projects I decided to try using Task list tokens to help me write about important details the minute it comes to my mind that it need to be documented. This worked well, so I decided to share this with you.

You can add tokens through the Visual Studio Options, I called my new token DOCUMENT.

Task List Options

You can use your cusotm tokens the same way you use the in-built ones like TODO.


public string GetPath()
{
// DOCUMENT: Path generated using magic
return DoMagic();
}

When it’s time to document you can easily copy-paste (first remove extra columns if necessary) your DOCUMENT tasks to Word.

Document Tasks

One thought on “Supporting Documentation Using Task Tokens

Leave a Reply

